[Skip to Content]
Visit our RSS Feed View our RSS Feed
Bringing Health Information to the Community October 23rd, 2019
CategoriesCategoriesCategories Contact UsContact Us ArchivesArchives Region/OfficeNNLM SearchSearch

Oct

08

Date prong graphic

NNLM webinar: Health Insurance Literacy

Posted by on October 8th, 2019 Posted in: Health Information Literacy, Public Library, Webinars
Tags: ,


Today many adults have difficulty knowing how to find a physician, fill a prescription, use and pay for medications, and use health information to make informed decisions about their health. Libraries are prominent places in communities making libraries and librarians excellent resources for advancing health information literacy. For example, librarians can address the unmet information needs that leave many unable to make appropriate health insurance choices. For those with lower levels of health insurance literacy, the ability to procure appropriate levels of health insurance coverage may be limited, which can have dire effects on individuals’ health statuses. Addressing this critical information need will be Emily Vardell, Assistant Professor in the School of Library and Information Management at Emporia State University will be presenting on this PNR Rendezvous webinar session. In addition, the 2020 Open Enrollment is from November 1 – December 15, 2019. This session can help your library be better prepared to help your community.

Presentation title: Health Insurance Literacy and How Librarians Can Help

When: Wednesday, October 16 at 10:00 a.m. Hawaii | 12:00 p.m. Alaska | 1:00 p.m. PT | 2:00 p.m. MT | 3:00 p.m. CT | 4:00 p.m. ET

Registration is encouraged but not required. The session will be recorded and posted when ready. Register and learn how to attend on the webinar web page

Image of the author ABOUT Carolyn Martin
Carolyn Martin is the Consumer Health Coordinator for the NNLM Pacific Northwest Region. She works with various libraries and community organizations to increase health literacy in their communities.

Email author Visit author's website View all posts by
This project has been funded in whole or in part with Federal funds from the Department of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine, under cooperative agreement number UG4LM012344 with the University of Utah, Spencer S. Eccles Health Sciences Library.​

NNLM and NATIONAL NETWORK OF LIBRARIES OF MEDICINE are service marks of the US Department of Health and Human Services | Copyright | Download PDF Reader