[Skip to Content]
Visit our RSS Feed View our RSS Feed
Bringing Health Information to the Community October 21st, 2020
CategoriesCategoriesCategories Contact UsContact Us ArchivesArchives Region/OfficeNNLM SearchSearch

Jul

09

Date prong graphic

Webinar: Fostering Mutuality: How One Library Prepared for the Opioid Crisis

Posted by on July 9th, 2020 Posted in: Emergency Preparedness, Public Library, Substance Addiction and Misuse
Tags: ,


NNLM’s Greater Midwest Region is hosting the upcoming webinar “Fostering Mutuality: How One Library Prepared for the Opioid Crisis”:

Kalamazoo is a midsized city in southwest Michigan with a growing number of incidents of opioid usage. Although the issue had yet to have a significant effect on the Kalamazoo Public Library (KPL), some staff wanted to raise awareness and prepare for the possibility of an overdose in the library. Participants will learn how KPL took very proactive steps to educate staff on opioid use, stock anti-overdose at public desks, partner with social service agencies, and advocate for changes in the state laws. This work ultimately led to creating a peer navigator program that uses people who have lived the life of substance use disorder to work with patrons struggling in the library. In the end, the KPL staff was not only better prepared to manage an overdose situation, but they were also more trauma informed.

Presenter: Kevin King, Head of Community Engagement, Kalamazoo Public Library

Date: Tuesday, July 14, 2020: 9-10am Pacific, 10-11am Mountain, 11-noon Central, noon-1pm Eastern

Register

Image of the author ABOUT Emily Hamstra
Emily Hamstra is the Outreach Coordinator for the NNLM Pacific Northwest Region.

Email author Visit author's website View all posts by
This project has been funded in whole or in part with Federal funds from the Department of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine, under cooperative agreement number UG4LM012344 with the University of Utah, Spencer S. Eccles Health Sciences Library.​

NNLM and NETWORK OF THE NATIONAL LIBRARY OF MEDICINE are service marks of the US Department of Health and Human Services | Copyright | Download PDF Reader