[Skip to Content]
Visit our RSS Feed View our RSS Feed
Bringing Health Information to the Community July 29th, 2021
CategoriesCategoriesCategories Contact UsContact Us ArchivesArchives Region/OfficeNNLM SearchSearch

Oct

08

Date prong graphic

Free PLA Webinar Regarding ACA and LGBTQ Health

Posted by on October 8th, 2020 Posted in: Health Information, Health Information Literacy, Minority Health Concerns, Public Library
Tags: , , , , ,


The COVID-19 pandemic has made it critical for health information providers across the country to stay informed about the special protections and benefits health insurance coverage offers to the safety of LGBTQ community members. This free webinar will help educate public library practitioners about available health insurance coverage options, benefits, and special federal protections exclusively for LGBTQ communities during the Open Enrollment period of the Affordable Care Act (Nov. 1–Dec. 15, 2020 for plans that start Jan. 1. 2021). It will also cover Special Enrollment Period eligibility for people who have experienced lifetime events, such as losing a job or having a baby.

At the conclusion of the webinar, participants will be able to:

  • Describe the major health and healthcare access disparities affecting the LGBTQ population, including specific subpopulations such as transgender people;
  • Describe the provisions of the Affordable Care Act that have relevance for addressing these disparities;
  • Explain specific strategies that library workers, consumer assistance personnel, and other health information providers can use to effectively connect with LGBTQ community members;
  • Identify the role of Enrollment Assistors and Navigators in their communities who can help LGBTQ people enroll in available insurance; and
  • Outline successful strategies for library outreach, engagement, and enrollment at the local level.

Wednesday, October 21 at 2:00 p.m. ET | 1:00 p.m. CT | 12:00 p.m. MT | 11:00 a.m. PT | 10:00 a.m. Alaska | 8:00 a.m. Hawaii

Register for PLA’s “The ACA and Advancing LGBTQ Health

Image of the author ABOUT Carolyn Martin
Carolyn Martin is the Consumer Health Coordinator for the NNLM Pacific Northwest Region. She works with various libraries and community organizations to increase health literacy in their communities.

Email author Visit author's website View all posts by
This project has been funded in whole or in part with Federal funds from the Department of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine, under cooperative agreement number UG4LM012344 with the University of Utah, Spencer S. Eccles Health Sciences Library.​

NNLM and NETWORK OF THE NATIONAL LIBRARY OF MEDICINE are service marks of the US Department of Health and Human Services | Copyright | Download PDF Reader