[Skip to Content]
Visit our RSS Feed View our RSS Feed
Bringing Health Information to the Community April 20th, 2021
CategoriesCategoriesCategories Contact UsContact Us ArchivesArchives Region/OfficeNNLM SearchSearch

Feb

04

Date prong graphic

Webinar: Public Libraries Respond to the Opioid Crisis with Their Community

Posted by on February 4th, 2021 Posted in: Public Health, Public Library, Substance Addiction and Misuse, Webinars
Tags:


In this webinar, Lynn Silipigni Connaway, Ph.D., Director of Library Trends and User Research, OCLC Research, will share the findings of the project, Public Libraries Respond to the Opioid Crisis with Their Communities, funded by the Institute of Museum and Library Services, in partnership with OCLC and the Public Library Association, a division of the American Library Association, to study how public librarians responded to the opioid crisis within their communities by partnering with other community agencies and services.

The nation is experiencing an ongoing opioid epidemic and communities across the country have been experiencing the epidemic’s impact. Eight case studies were conducted in different types of communities within the United States. Dr. Connaway will highlight the findings based on interviews with library staff, library board members, the staff at community partner organizations, and members of each of the eight communities. The resources and findings of this project will help public library staff and their community partners develop effective strategies to work together to address the opioid epidemic in America.

This webinar is part of the Network of the National Library of Medicine, South Central Region’s (NNLM SCR) webinar series, SCR CONNECTions.

Wednesday, February 10, 2021, 11-noon ET, 10am-11am CT, 9am-10am MT, 8am-9am PT

Access information is available on the NNLM website.

Image of the author ABOUT Emily Hamstra
Emily Hamstra is the Outreach Coordinator for the NNLM Pacific Northwest Region.

Email author Visit author's website View all posts by
This project has been funded in whole or in part with Federal funds from the Department of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine, under cooperative agreement number UG4LM012344 with the University of Utah, Spencer S. Eccles Health Sciences Library.​

NNLM and NETWORK OF THE NATIONAL LIBRARY OF MEDICINE are service marks of the US Department of Health and Human Services | Copyright | Download PDF Reader