[Skip to Content]
Visit us on YouTube Visit us on YouTubeVisit our RSS Feed View our RSS Feed
MidContinental Region News July 15th, 2020
CategoriesCategoriesCategories Contact UsContact Us ArchivesArchives Region/OfficeNNLM MCR SearchSearch

May

05

Date prong graphic

Coming up soon! MCR monthly webinar on Data Literacy Education

Posted in: #CC/Academic List, All Members, Blog, Data Science, Webinars and Training


What: Data Literacy: What It Is, Why It’s Important, and How to Bring It into The Classroom

Presenter:
Shannon Sheridan, Data Management Librarian at the University of Wyoming

When: 
May 20, 2020 at  1PM – 2PM (Pacific)| 2PM – 3 PM (Mountain) | 3PM – 4PM (Central) | 4PM – 5PM (Eastern)

Data touches all of our lives, yet it is a vital skills that is often left out of formal education. So how can we make sure students are prepared to deal with the data they inevitably will encounter in their work and lives? This presentation aims to answer that question. The presentation will provide an overview of what data literacy is and explain why it is an important component of students education. We also will discuss how instructors can bring data literacy, in both small and large ways, in to their classroom, and provide some concrete examples.

For more information and to register for this webinar go to the Webinar Session Webpage.

Contact donna.ziegenfuss@utah.edu for additional information.

Hope to see you online!

Share

Archive

Contact us at:
Network of the National Library of Medicine/MidContinental Region (NN/LM-MCR)
University of Utah
Spencer S. Eccles Health Sciences Library
10 North 1900 East
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-5890
Phone: 801-587-3650
This project has been funded in whole or in part with Federal funds from the Department of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine, under cooperative agreement number UG4LM012344 with the University of Utah Spencer S. Eccles Health Sciences Library.

NNLM and NETWORK OF THE NATIONAL LIBRARY OF MEDICINE are service marks of the US Department of Health and Human Services | Copyright | Download PDF Reader