[Skip to Content]
Visit us on YouTube Visit us on YouTubeVisit our RSS Feed View our RSS Feed
MidContinental Region News September 21st, 2019
CategoriesCategoriesCategories Contact UsContact Us ArchivesArchives Region/OfficeNNLM MCR SearchSearch

Jun

26

Date prong graphic

Upcoming WebJunction Webinar: Why Wikipedia Matters for Health and Medical Information

Posted in: #CC/Academic List, #Health Interest List, #Health Sciences List, #Public/K-12 List, All Members


Date: Wednesday, August 14, 2019

 Time: 3PM ET | 2PM CT | 1PM MT | 12PM PT

Presenters: Betha Gutsche, WebJunction Program Manager, OCLC; and Liz Waltman, Outreach, Education, and Communications Coordinator, Southeastern/Atlantic Region, National Network of Libraries of Medicine.

Description: Wikipedia is a go-to resource for health and medical information, not just for the general public but for health care providers as well. Over 50% of physicians, and 94% of medical students use Wikipedia to find medical information on the internet. It may be popular but library staff want to know how reliable it is and how to assess quality on behalf of their patrons.

The National Network of Librarians of Medicine (NNLM) supports strengthening the ability of public libraries nationwide to find reliable and authoritative medical and health information online for information seekers. Hear how Liz Waltman from the NNLM connects with WikiProject Medicine, an organization of volunteers dedicated to developing, maintaining, and promoting accurate medical information on Wikipedia. Learn about the upcoming online training program Wikipedia + Libraries: Health and Medical Information that will empower you to confidently guide your patrons to reliable resources on the internet. The free four-week course will be offered in the fall of 2019.

Registration: Registration is free and can be accessed through the WebJunction class instance 

Contact: For additional information, please contact Liz Waltman.

Share

Archive

Contact us at:
National Network of Libraries of Medicine/MidContinental Region (NN/LM-MCR)
University of Utah
Spencer S. Eccles Health Sciences Library
10 North 1900 East
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-5890
Phone: 801-587-3650
This project has been funded in whole or in part with Federal funds from the Department of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine, under cooperative agreement number UG4LM012344 with the University of Utah Spencer S. Eccles Health Sciences Library.

NNLM and NATIONAL NETWORK OF LIBRARIES OF MEDICINE are service marks of the US Department of Health and Human Services | Copyright | Download PDF Reader