[Skip to Content]
Visit us on Twitter Visit us on TwitterVisit our RSS Feed View our RSS Feed
NCDS Bit by Bit June 20th, 2024
CategoriesCategoriesCategories Contact UsContact Us ArchivesArchives Region/OfficeRegion SearchSearch

Mar

11

Date prong graphic

NCDS Data Internship

Posted by on March 11th, 2024 Posted in: announcements


The NNLM National Center for Data Services is excited to announce that applications are open for the 2024 Data Internship for library and information science students of color! This program provides hands-on experience in the skills needed for data librarianship in a health sciences context. These paid internships offer opportunities to gain practical experience while working with a mentor in a guided environment on structured, data projects. The practical experiences developed during the internship will provide participants with the skills needed to be competitive for data librarian positions. Upon completion, interns are also funded to travel to and present at a conference about their summer project.

The internship will take place from June 3 – August 9, 2024. We are seeking current students in an LIS graduate program, from marginalized racial or ethnic groups as outlined by the U.S. Census Bureau, who reside in the U.S. Applications are open March 1 – April 1. The expectations for the internship are to work 10 hours per week for the 10-week program. It pays $2000 in total, split in two payments.

This year we have projects from the Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies, Data Curation Network, and two other sites to be announced soon. There will be up to 12 interns selected, and these projects provide the opportunity to receive first-hand experience working on data projects while receiving guidance and mentorship.

See the following links for more information and to apply:

NCDS Data Internship Website

NCDS 2024 Data Internship Job Posting

Information Session

We also highly recommend attending the informational session about the internship in order to have a strong application.

Date: March 20, 2024

Time: 11a PST/12p MST/1p CST/2p EST

Register here: https://www.nnlm.gov/training/class/ncds-2024-internship-information-session

If you have any questions, please contact us at ncds@nnlm.gov.

Image of the author ABOUT Justin de la Cruz


Email author Visit author's website View all posts by

Subscribe


NNLM and NETWORK OF THE NATIONAL LIBRARY OF MEDICINE are service marks of the US Department of Health and Human Services | Copyright | HHS Vulnerability Disclosure | Download PDF Reader