[Skip to Content]
Visit us on Facebook Visit us on FacebookVisit us on Twitter Visit us on TwitterVisit us on Facebook Visit us on InstagramVisit our RSS Feed View our RSS Feed
Dragonfly April 1st, 2020
CategoriesCategoriesCategories Contact UsContact Us ArchivesArchives Region/OfficeRegion SearchSearch

Mar

12

Date prong graphic

DataFlash: Citizen Science Month (April 2020) and the PNR!

Posted by on March 12th, 2020 Posted in: Data Science, Public Health, Public Libraries, Training & Education
Tags: , ,


I have some very exciting news to share with you all.  The PNR Citizen Science Team has planned a great  PNR Rendezvous webinar entitled “What’s All this Talk About Citizen Science?” on Wednesday, April 29th, 2020 at 1 P.M. PT | 2 P.M. MT | 4 P.M. ET | 10 A.M. Hawaii | 12 P.M. Alaska with three AMAZING guest speakers.

The first guest speaker will be SciStarter founder Darlene Cavalier who will give us a basic introduction to the world of Citizen Science and suggest new ways that we can get involved with virtual Citizen Science projects especially in the time of COVID-19.  Joining Darlene are two high school science teachers, Cheryl Rice and Pete Recksiek, of Dalles, Oregon, who will share their classroom Citizen Science experience using two different projects they selected from the SciStarter/NLM microsite. Cheryl will discuss facilitating Debris Tracker and Pete will discuss facilitating Stallcatchers with their high school science students. Each will share why they choose their project, what went well, and what they’d do differently next time. They will also describe the benefits of Citizen Science project participation and offer advice for others, especially library staff, who want to offer citizen science opportunities through programs such as STEM, library nature groups, and science book clubs. The good news is: anyone can be a citizen scientist – all that’s needed is a bit of curiosity!

Please stay tuned to the Dragonfly Blog for more Citizen Science things during the month of April 2020!

Image of the author ABOUT Nancy Shin
I received my Bachelor of Science in the Integrated Sciences majoring in medical genetics and animal biology from the University of British Columbia (UBC). I also graduated from UBC's esteemed MLIS program with a focus on health librarianship. In 2018, I was the Research Data Management Sewell Fund Fellow for the Technology Incubator at Washington State University. Currently, I'm the NNLM PNR Research and Data Coordinator for the University of Washington's Health Sciences Library. In my spare time, I enjoy photography, drawing, cooking and baking, and travelling the world!!!

Email author View all posts by

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked with an asterisk *

 

Archived Content


Developed resources reported in this program are supported by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), National Institutes of Health (NIH) under cooperative agreement number UG4LM012343 with the University of Washington.

NNLM and NATIONAL NETWORK OF LIBRARIES OF MEDICINE are service marks of the US Department of Health and Human Services | Copyright | Download PDF Reader