[Skip to Content]
Visit us on YouTube Visit us on YouTubeVisit our RSS Feed View our RSS Feed
Region 4 News June 18th, 2024
CategoriesCategoriesCategories Contact UsContact Us ArchivesArchives Region/OfficeNNLM Region 4 SearchSearch

Jul

28

Date prong graphic

There Is Still Time to Register! Course Approval 101: Consumer Health for Library Students Webinar Is Almost Here

Posted in: #CC/Academic List, #Health Interest List, #Health Sciences List, All Members


Course Approval 101: Consumer Health for Library Students webinar is just around the corner. There is still time to register!

Did you know that your LIS/iSchool graduate students can now earn a Consumer Health Information Specialization (CHIS) certification by taking your class? You now have the opportunity to have your consumer health-related course CHIS certified through a unique partnership with the Medical Library Association (MLA) and the Network of the National Library of Medicine (NNLM).

Join us on Tuesday, August 1st at 9 AM PT/10 AM MT/11 AM CT/12 PM ET for a special 1-hour webinar that will give an overview of the NNLM Consumer Health for Library Students Program, the benefits of offering certificates to students, and the step-by-step process on how to apply to offer CHIS certificates for your class at no cost.

We’ll be joined by guest speaker Dr. Emily Vardell, a certified CHIS instructor and associate professor for the School of Library and Information Management program at Emporia State University. She will share her success story in teaching a CHIS-certified course.

Dr. Vardell teaches courses on the foundations of library science, reference, research methods, and health sciences librarianship. Her research interests focus broadly on information behavior, including health insurance literacy and infertility information practices. She also studies library science education best practices and trends.

Objectives:

  1. Explore the NNLM Consumer Health for Library Students Program.
  2. Understand MLA’s application requirements.
  3. Discover the benefits of offering and earning a CHIS certificate.
  4. Understand NNLM’s role in the program.

To register, visit nnlm.gov/training. For questions, feel free to reach out to Sam Nunn at sam.nunn@utah.edu.

Share

Archive

Contact us at:
Network of the National Library of Medicine/NNLM Region 4
University of Utah
Spencer S. Eccles Health Sciences Library
10 North 1900 East
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-5890
Phone: 801-587-3650
This project has been funded in whole or in part with Federal funds from the Department of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine, under cooperative agreement number UG4LM012344 with the University of Utah Spencer S. Eccles Health Sciences Library.

NNLM and NETWORK OF THE NATIONAL LIBRARY OF MEDICINE are service marks of the US Department of Health and Human Services | Copyright | HHS Vulnerability Disclosure | Download PDF Reader