[Skip to Content]
Visit us on Facebook Visit us on FacebookVisit us on Linked In Visit us on Linked InVisit us on Twitter Visit us on TwitterVisit us on Facebook Visit us on InstagramVisit our RSS Feed View our RSS Feed
Region 5 Blog May 19th, 2022
CategoriesCategoriesCategories Contact UsContact Us ArchivesArchives Region/OfficeRegion SearchSearch

May

02

Date prong graphic

Mental Health Awareness Month Events

Posted by on May 2nd, 2022 Posted in: Consumer Health, Health Observances, Mental Health
Tags: , , ,


In every community across the U.S. , people have been impacted by mental health. They have either worked or lived with or cared for someone who has or has experienced a mental health condition or are experiencing it themselves. The COVID-19 pandemic has caused additional challenges for those who need or are seeking help. Take some time, throughout the month of May, to become better educated about mental health, show our appreciation of mental health professionals and caretakers, and highlight the needs of those experiencing mental health conditions.

Promote and attend these free webinars and events focusing on mental health.

Mental Health Awareness Month Webinar Series
This free webinar series, hosted by HHS and HUD, will take place each Wednesday in May and feature leading mental health and housing professionals with a focus on mental health issues that our nation is facing in the post-pandemic world.

Event: National Children’s Mental Health Awareness Day 2022: Peer Support for Youth and Families, register to attend this SAMHSA (Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration) hosted event commemorating child and youth mental health and honoring youth and family peer support. Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use Miriam Delphin-Rittmon, Ph.D., provides remarks, May 5 starting at 6:00 a.m. SST, 7:00 a.m. HST, 9:00 a.m. AKDT, 10:00 a.m. PDT, May 6 at 3:00 a.m. ChST

Webinar: Parenting with Co-occurring Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities, register for this 1 hour webinar, hosted by the Univ. of Kentucky, focused on the experiences of parents and families who have lived experience with co-occurring mental health and developmental disabilities followed by an optional 30 minute Q&A time, May 10 starting at 7:00 a.m. SST, 8:00 a.m. HST, 10:00 a.m. AKDT, 11:00 a.m. PDT, May 11 at 4:00 a.m. ChST

SAMHSA provides additional events and resources for you and your community. Check out their Mental Health Awareness Month webpage.

Image of the author ABOUT Carolyn Martin
Carolyn Martin is the Outreach and Education Coordinator for the NNLM Region 5. She works with various libraries and community organizations to increase health literacy in their communities.

Email author View all posts by
Developed resources reported in this program are supported by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), National Institutes of Health (NIH) under cooperative agreement number UG4LM012343 with the University of Washington.

NNLM and NETWORK OF THE NATIONAL LIBRARY OF MEDICINE are service marks of the US Department of Health and Human Services | Copyright | HHS Vulnerability Disclosure | Download PDF Reader