[Skip to Content]
Visit us on Facebook Visit us on FacebookVisit us on Twitter Visit us on TwitterVisit our RSS Feed View our RSS Feed
SEA Currents October 20th, 2018
CategoriesCategoriesCategories Contact UsContact Us ArchivesArchives Region/OfficeRegion SearchSearch

Jan

03

Date prong graphic

Webinar – The Opiate Crisis: What Libraries Can Do

Posted by on January 3rd, 2018 Posted in: Substance Misuse


Announcing a new, 1 hour webinar from Infopeople.

The Opiate Crisis: What Libraries Can Do

Presented by Dr. Steve Albrecht

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Start Time:

  • 12 Noon Pacific
  • 1PM Mountain
  • 2PM Central
  • 3PM Eastern

This webinar discusses the history and depth of the opiate problem in this country and how it has come to the attention of libraries and their staff. Dr. Steve Albrecht is a former San Diego Police Reserve Sergeant and a member of the California Narcotics Officers Association, trained in Drug Abuse Recognition (DAR) and Advanced DAR. In this session he will focus on how library staff members at all levels can recognize the signs and symptoms of opiate users who are either under the influence or in withdrawal (which makes them act erratic, irrational, threatening, and even violent). He will cover what to do when faced with an overdose patient; the safe and effective use of Narcan (a drug that reverses the effects of opiate overdose); getting help from social services agencies and substance abuse professionals, and the police. This session will also discuss how to make your library facility and its restrooms safer and less likely to become a haven for opiate users.

For more information and to participate in the January 18 webinar, go to https://infopeople.org/civicrm/event/info%3Fid%3D743%26reset%3D1 .

Webinars are free of charge, you can pre-register by clicking on the Register Now button (at the top and bottom of the page). If registering with less than 30 MINUTES from the start of the webinar you can join directly from the thank you page by clicking the Join Now button. If you pre-registered you will receive an email with login link and a reminder email the day before the event.

If you are unable to attend the live event, you can access the archived version the day following the webinar.  Check our archive listing at:  http://infopeople.org/training/view/webinar/archived

Image of the author ABOUT Tony Nguyen


Email author View all posts by

SEA CUrrents Archives 2006-Present

SEA Currents Archives: 2001-2005

Subscribe to SEA Currents

Blog Categories

Funded under cooperative agreement number UG4LM012340 with the University of Maryland, Health Sciences and Human Services Library, and awarded by the DHHS, NIH, National Library of Medicine.

NNLM and NATIONAL NETWORK OF LIBRARIES OF MEDICINE are service marks of the US Department of Health and Human Services | Copyright | Download PDF Reader