[Skip to Content]
Visit us on Facebook Visit us on FacebookVisit us on Twitter Visit us on TwitterVisit our RSS Feed View our RSS Feed
NEC Spotlight March 5th, 2024
CategoriesCategoriesCategories Contact UsContact Us ArchivesArchives Region/OfficeNEC Main Site SearchSearch

Dec

13

Date prong graphic

Charting a New Course: Practical Data Visualization for Librarians  

Posted by on December 13th, 2023 Posted in: Data Visualization


Join us in January and February for five NEC Micro Trainings designed to equip you with essential skills in creating compelling visualizations using Microsoft Excel. This comprehensive series covers every facet of data management in Excel — from cleaning and transforming to analyzing and visualizing both qualitative and quantitative data. While not all topics can be fully covered within each session, attendees can up-vote the most crucial topics for in-depth exploration. To enhance your learning journey, attendees receive an excel workbook, allowing you to reinforce concepts and practice skills at your own pace. Each session is self-contained. Attendees are encouraged to choose specific sessions based on their needs and familiarity with the subject matter. Registration required

Thursday, January 18, 1-2 p.m. CT (2-3 p.m. ET — 11 a.m.-12 p.m. PT)

  • Excel Essential: Excel Essentials covers a few basic tips on navigating the workbook and basic features needed when working with data. 
  • Basics of Functions: The Basics of Functions in Excel covers some common functions for performing calculations and automating tasks. 
  • Basics of Data Cleaning: Basics of Data Cleaning in Excel covers some tools for identifying incomplete or inaccurate parts of data and replacing, modifying, or improving the data.
  • Registration required 

Thursday, February 1, 12-1 p.m. CT (1-2 p.m. ET — 10 a.m.-11 a.m. PT)

  • Basics of Data Transformation: The Basics of Data Transformation in Excel covers processes for adjusting data to make it organized and easier to analyze. 
  • Basics of Data Analysis: The Basics of Data Analysis in Excel covers the process of extracting meaningful insights, trends, patterns, and conclusions from data. 
  • Registration required

Thursday, February 8, 1-2 p.m. CT (2-3 p.m. ET — 11 a.m.-12 p.m. PT)

  • Using Excel’s Power Query Tool: The Power Query Tool in Excel session covers how to import, transform, and clean data from diverse sources, gaining essential skills to streamline your data preparation and analysis workflow.  
  • Registration required

Thursday, February 15, 1-2 p.m. CT (2-3 p.m. ET — 11 a.m.-12 p.m. PT)

  • Creating Basic Charts: Creating Basic Charts in Excel provides step-by-step instructions for creating a variety of chart types. 
  • Formatting Charts: Formatting in Excel covers options for enhancing a chart’s design to convey insights and have a polished and professional appearance. 
  • Registration required

Thursday, February 22, 1-2 p.m. CT (2-3 p.m. ET — 11 a.m.-12 p.m. PT)

  • Creating Advanced Charts: Creating Advanced Charts in Excel provides step-by-step ideas and creative strategies for crafting advanced charts. 
  • Registration required