[Skip to Content]
Visit our RSS Feed View our RSS Feed
PHDL Me This July 19th, 2024
CategoriesCategoriesCategories Contact UsContact Us ArchivesArchives Region/OfficeOur Office SearchSearch

Jan

09

Date prong graphic

Telehealth: Public Health – Library Partnerships

Posted by on January 9th, 2024 Posted in: Blog


Learn about how a public health department is extending telehealth services in communities to close critical gaps in access to health care.

Image promoting the Library Telehealth Partnerships program. January 31, 2024 1:00 pm MT.

Date and Time: January 31, 2024 at 12 p.m. PT/1 p.m. MT/2 p.m. CT/3 p.m. ET

Speakers: Rachael Masaitis, Idaho Department of Health and Welfare;

George Strawley, Network of the National Library of Medicine

Description: In Idaho, the Department of Health and Welfare is supporting libraries as they offer telehealth connections for patrons. These services allow residents of rural communities and others who experience health inequities related to the “digital divide” to talk to their healthcare professional over an internet connection right at their local library. Hear from the coordinator of this fledgling program about how it has operated so far.

A representative of NNLM’s Region 4 will discuss training opportunities for providers who want to explore offering telehealth services at their library.

Register for this one hour session via NNLM’s training registration system.

The program in Idaho is a collaboration with Idaho Commission for Libraries and the Idaho Department of Health and Welfare.  Funding was made available for laptops, microphones, and privacy booths at participating public libraries serving as a location for telehealth appointments while protecting privacy.

Register for the session to attend or view the recording of the program

Image of the author ABOUT Javier Crespo


Email author View all posts by

Subscribe to Newsletter

Search Content

NNLM Public Health Coordination Office University of Massachusetts Medical School 55 Lake Avenue North Worcester, MA 01655 (508) 856-7633
This has been funded in whole or in part with Federal funds from the Department of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine, under cooperative agreement number UG4LM012347 with the University of Massachusetts Medical School.

NNLM and NETWORK OF THE NATIONAL LIBRARY OF MEDICINE are service marks of the US Department of Health and Human Services | Copyright | HHS Vulnerability Disclosure | Download PDF Reader