[Skip to Content]
Visit our RSS Feed View our RSS Feed
PHDL Me This October 21st, 2021
CategoriesCategoriesCategories Contact UsContact Us ArchivesArchives Region/OfficeOur Office SearchSearch

Sep

23

Date prong graphic

CDC COCA Call: Evaluating and Supporting Patients with COVID-19 Fatigue

Posted by on September 23rd, 2021 Posted in: Blog


The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has announced a Clinician Outreach and Communication Activity (COCA) Call.   During this COCA Call, presenters will discuss Post-COVID conditions (PCC), an umbrella term for the wide range of health consequences present four or more weeks after infection with SARS-CoV-2, which includes Long-COVID.

  • TOPIC:  Evaluating and Supporting Patients Presenting With Fatigue Following COVID-19
  • WHEN:  September 30, 2021
  • TIME:  2 pm EDT/1 pm CDT/Noon MDT/11 am PDT

To register, please visit the TRAIN learning website at  COCA Webcast

It can be difficult to distinguish symptoms of fatigue and post-exertional malaise caused by PCC from symptoms that occur for other reasons. The American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (AAPM&R) has recently published a Multi-Disciplinary Collaborative Consensus Guidance Statement on the Assessment and Treatment of Fatigue in PCC. It provides practical guidance to clinicians when assessing and treating individuals with fatigue and a history consistent with PCC. The burden of PCC is expected to reflect the disproportionate burden of infection by race, ethnicity, and socioeconomic status and to highlight ongoing inequities in healthcare. The Health Equity Work Group of the AAPM&R has developed guidance to highlight the central role that principles of diversity, equity, and inclusion play in delivering quality healthcare.

There will be a web on-demand version of the call available after the live event.

Additional information on  COVID-19 Training is available through TRAIN and the Public Health Foundation.  They have developed a live search tool for training related to COVID-19 that is available through the TRAIN Learning Network.   The search tool is automatically updated as new trainings are added to TRAIN platform.    TRAIN provides access to COCA calls and other training from the CDC, World Health Organization and other training providers.

Image of the author ABOUT Javier Crespo


Email author View all posts by
NNLM Public Health Coordination Office University of Massachusetts Medical School 55 Lake Avenue North Worcester, MA 01655 (508) 856-7633
This has been funded in whole or in part with Federal funds from the Department of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine, under cooperative agreement number UG4LM012347 with the University of Massachusetts Medical School.

NNLM and NETWORK OF THE NATIONAL LIBRARY OF MEDICINE are service marks of the US Department of Health and Human Services | Copyright | Download PDF Reader