[Skip to Content]
Visit our RSS Feed View our RSS Feed
PHDL Me This November 28th, 2022
CategoriesCategoriesCategories Contact UsContact Us ArchivesArchives Region/OfficeOur Office SearchSearch

Mar

04

Date prong graphic

Systematic Reviews in Cochrane Library

Posted by on March 4th, 2022 Posted in: Blog, Education and Outreach, How To, PHDL Resources


Register for Introduction to Cochrane Library for True Beginners with Wiley, the publisher of The Cochrane Library

on Thursday, March 17, 2022 2:00 PM ET/ 1:00 PM CT/ 12:00 PM MT/ 11:00 AM PT

Cochrane Library Logo

The Cochrane Library is part of the PHDL collection and includes in its set of databases the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR).  CDSR is the leading journal and database for systematic reviews in health care. In addition, the CDSR includes protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials and supplements.  The CDSR covers any topic relevant to health care, including health services.  Although systematic reviews are findable in PubMed, the CDSR has a strict process for acceptance into the database.

Access the Cochrane Library by clicking on the Cochrane Logo on the PHDL page.
Cochrane Database on the PHDL

Once in the Cochrane Library page begin by typing your terms in the search box. Screenshot of Cochrane Library landing page

 

 

 

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews Search Options Drop Down Menu

14 different search options are available. However,  the default setting is  ‘All Text’ when you first open the database.

 

 

 

 

 

Systematic reviews are also browsable across 37 health and medicine domain areas, including public health.

Each record has P(opulation) I(ntervention) C(omparison) O(utcome) available in the Show PICO link with a dropdown arrow.

The systematic reviews in this database are available as a PDF for view and/or download in a few different formats: full, standard, and summary.  The CDSR has many other filters and search capabilities and we encourage attending the training listed above on March 17 to get more information.

Image of the author ABOUT Cecilia Vernes


Email author View all posts by
NNLM Public Health Coordination Office University of Massachusetts Medical School 55 Lake Avenue North Worcester, MA 01655 (508) 856-7633
This has been funded in whole or in part with Federal funds from the Department of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine, under cooperative agreement number UG4LM012347 with the University of Massachusetts Medical School.

NNLM and NETWORK OF THE NATIONAL LIBRARY OF MEDICINE are service marks of the US Department of Health and Human Services | Copyright | HHS Vulnerability Disclosure | Download PDF Reader