[Skip to Content]
Visit our RSS Feed View our RSS Feed
PHDL Me This August 13th, 2022
CategoriesCategoriesCategories Contact UsContact Us ArchivesArchives Region/OfficeOur Office SearchSearch

Jul

21

Date prong graphic

New set of PHDL courses

Posted by on July 21st, 2022 Posted in: Announcements, Blog, Education and Outreach, PHDL Resources


We have a new set of PHDL courses on the Training Calendar!  See dates below.

This two-class course is a new version of the previous Getting Started class.  The two classes allow for better pacing and covering more learning of resources and information retrieval skills.

Getting Started with the PHDL Version 2

The first course, ‘Getting Started with the PHDL Version 2’, will cover the basics of how to use the PHDL to find evidence-based resources to support public health practices.

By the end of the session one should be able to:

  1. List the types of resources available in the PHDL collection
  2. Recognize when to browse the collection using the PHDL search tool and when to search PubMed.
  3. Demonstrate how to find and access full-text articles in, and outside of, the collection based on PubMed search results.

Upon registering for the class, details on how to access the session as well as a link to a document on how to access the PHDL will be included in the confirmation email.

Tools and Techniques to Maximize the PHDL

The second course, ‘Tools and Techniques to Maximize the PHDL’, will get into more detail on how to create more precise searches in PubMed and how to use tools to keep current in your field.

By the end of this class one should be able to:

  1. Recognize when to use Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) for PubMed searches
  2. List the steps to search PubMed using MeSH terms
  3. Describe how to save searches and make them into alerts in PubMed
  4. List the steps to do a table of contents search in PubMed

Details on how to access the session and link to a document on how to create a My NCBI account will be included in the confirmation email.

There will be ample time for Q & A  and discussion following the instruction.

We look forward to seeing you whether you are new to the PHDL or would like a refresher.

To request additional learning:

If you would like to learn more about our PHDL learning program or are interested in scheduling a dedicated session for your department, please do not hesitate to contact us by sending an email to: phdl@umassmed.edu.  We are in the process of planning instruction sessions that will feature some of the proprietary databases in the collection, and encourage you to periodically check the Training Calendar for upcoming classes and webinars.

Upcoming sessions:

August Classes
PHDLScreenShot

Getting Started with the PHDL Version 2 on August 16, 2022 at 3 pm ET/ 2pm CT/1 pm MT/ 12 m PT

Tools and Techniques to Maximize the PHDL on August 18, 2022 at 4:30 pm ET/ 3:30 pm CT/ 2:30 pm MT/ 1:30 pm PT

 

Getting Started with the PHDL Version 2 August 23, 2022 at 11 am ET/ 10 am CT/ 9 am MT/ 8 am PT

Tools and Techniques to Maximize the PHDL on August 25, 2022  at 11 am ET/ 10 am CT/ 9 am MT/ 8 am PT

September Classes

Getting Started with the PHDL Version 2 September 20, 2022 at 3 pm ET/ 2 pm CT/ 1 pm MT/ 12 pm PT

Tools and Techniques to Maximize the PHDL on September 22, 2022 at 3 pm ET/ 2 pm CT/ 1 pm MT/ 12 pm PT

Image of the author ABOUT Cecilia Vernes


Email author View all posts by
NNLM Public Health Coordination Office University of Massachusetts Medical School 55 Lake Avenue North Worcester, MA 01655 (508) 856-7633
This has been funded in whole or in part with Federal funds from the Department of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine, under cooperative agreement number UG4LM012347 with the University of Massachusetts Medical School.

NNLM and NETWORK OF THE NATIONAL LIBRARY OF MEDICINE are service marks of the US Department of Health and Human Services | Copyright | HHS Vulnerability Disclosure | Download PDF Reader