[Skip to Content]
Visit our RSS Feed View our RSS Feed
PHDL Me This July 4th, 2022
CategoriesCategoriesCategories Contact UsContact Us ArchivesArchives Region/OfficeOur Office SearchSearch

May

19

Date prong graphic

Upcoming NNLM Classes for June

Posted by on May 19th, 2022 Posted in: Blog


Here are some upcoming classes on health information resources.  Classes are part of the NNLM programs expanding access and training in health information resources.

The Role of Indoor Environmental Air Hazards on the Health of Children:  Offered June 8, 2022 11:00 am EDT / 10:00 am CDT / 9:00 am MDT / 8:00 am PDT

There is a direct relationship between our environments and our health. Our knowledge about the role of indoor exposures and human health has grown exponentially in the past 50 years. Children, because of their developmental status, are uniquely susceptible to certain chemical exposures, many of which are anthropogenic. This presentation will provide a case example of a multidisciplinary approach designed to explore, identify, and address some of these exposures, particularly the ones known to have adverse health effects in order to improve child health in the Kansas City Metro Area.

Objectives:

Learners will be able to:

  1. Recognize pediatric environmental health and understand some key themes foundation to the field of practice.
  2. List 3 potential sources of environmental health hazards to children in homes or schools
  3. Describe an example of local problem solving where cross sector and multidisciplinary collaboration has served to address particular aspects of housing insecurity

Speakers Kevin Kennedy, Luke Gard, Elizabeth Friedman are from the Environmental Health Program at Children’s Mercy Kansas City.

This program is part of Health Bytes with Region 3, a monthly web conference presented by the Region 3 of  NNLM on various topics of interest to health sciences librarians and others. The webinar highlights topics such as NLM databases, subject specific resources, and technology topics.

See full details and register!

 

Health Statistics on the Web:   Offered June 16, 2022 2:00 pm EDT / 1:00 pm CDT / Noon MDT / 11:00 am PDT

This class is part of the NNLM Public Health Curriculum geared towards reaching the public health workforce with training opportunities supporting the effective use of National Library of Medicine and other high quality information resources.

In this 1 hour webinar you will learn the difference between data and statistics, key features and use of health statistics, steps to finding health statistics, and sources of health statistics at the local, state and national level. The importance and relevance of health statistics in various contexts will be discussed. You will have the opportunity to become familiar with the features and scope of several statistics resources through the use of examples.

Objectives

At the conclusion of the class, participants will be able to:

  • Recognize the differences between data, data sets, and statistics.
  • Understand the 4-step process used to locate relevant health statistics for a particular circumstance or issue.
  • Identify online resources that provide data sets and statistics at the local, state and national level.

This program is designated for Certified Health Education Specialists (CHES) and/or Master Certified Health Education Specialists (MCHES) to receive up to 1 total Category I contact education contact hours. Maximum advanced-level continuing education contact hours available are 0. Continuing Competency credits available are 0. Provider ID#_1144109_11032021

See the full agenda and register.

 

Image of the author ABOUT Javier Crespo


Email author View all posts by
NNLM Public Health Coordination Office University of Massachusetts Medical School 55 Lake Avenue North Worcester, MA 01655 (508) 856-7633
This has been funded in whole or in part with Federal funds from the Department of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine, under cooperative agreement number UG4LM012347 with the University of Massachusetts Medical School.

NNLM and NETWORK OF THE NATIONAL LIBRARY OF MEDICINE are service marks of the US Department of Health and Human Services | Copyright | HHS Vulnerability Disclosure | Download PDF Reader